Ethiopian macro indicators
Four series, as their official sources published them: the National Bank of Ethiopia’s indicative exchange rate and treasury bill auctions, the Ethiopian Securities Exchange’s interbank money market, and the Ethiopian Statistical Service’s consumer price index.
Every figure below is shown with the period it belongs to. Nothing here is averaged, converted, combined or restated — the numbers are the ones the source printed, and where a source printed nothing there is a dash.
A dash means the source did not print that value.
US dollar indicative exchange rate
Each rate applies on the date shown and summarises the foreign-exchange transactions banks conducted on the previous business day. The National Bank does not state which day that was, so this page does not name one either.
All three rates are birr per US dollar, as published.
| Rate date | Buying | Selling | Weighted average |
|---|---|---|---|
| 23 Sep 2026 | 160.887 | 162.4959 | 160.887 |
| 22 Sep 2026 | 160.876 | 162.4848 | 160.876 |
| 21 Sep 2026 | 160.8804 | 162.4892 | 160.8804 |
| 18 Sep 2026 | 160.878 | 162.4868 | 160.878 |
| 17 Sep 2026 | 160.7662 | 162.3739 | 160.7662 |
| 16 Sep 2026 | 160.7457 | 162.3532 | 160.7457 |
| 15 Sep 2026 | 161.4029 | 163.0169 | 161.4029 |
| 14 Sep 2026 | 160.8544 | 162.4629 | 160.8544 |
| 10 Sep 2026 | 160.9185 | 162.5277 | 160.9185 |
| 09 Sep 2026 | 160.7556 | 162.3632 | 160.7556 |
| 08 Sep 2026 | 160.9203 | 162.5295 | 160.9203 |
| 07 Sep 2026 | 160.9448 | 162.5542 | 160.9448 |
Treasury bill auction
The auction is shown whole, every column the National Bank printed and every maturity together. No single column is the auction’s rate, so none of them is singled out here.
Auction 1011 of 26, held 02 Sep 2026
| Figure | 28 days | 91 days | 182 days | 364 days | All maturities |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maturity (days) | 28 | 91 | 182 | 364 | — |
| Maturity date | 01 Oct 2026 | 03 Dec 2026 | 04 Mar 2027 | 02 Sep 2027 | — |
| Issue date | — | — | — | — | — |
| Amount offered (ETB millions) | 3,343.305 | 6,686.610 | 19,614.920 | 13,373.225 | 43,018.060 |
| Bids received (ETB millions) | 10,086.610 | 20,123.955 | 21,014.920 | 22,952.665 | 74,178.150 |
| Total accepted (ETB millions) | 3,343.305 | 6,686.610 | 19,614.920 | 13,373.225 | 43,018.060 |
| Competitive bids (ETB millions) | 3,343.305 | 6,686.610 | 10,014.920 | 13,373.225 | 33,418.060 |
| Non-competitive bids (ETB millions) | — | — | 9,600.00 | — | 9,600.000 |
| Maximum price (ETB per 100) | 99.770 | 99.02 | 97.500 | 93.954 | — |
| Maximum yield (%) | 3.516 | 6.323 | 9.750 | 10.000 | — |
| Minimum price (ETB per 100) | 99.731 | 98.448 | 95.364 | 90.932 | — |
| Minimum yield (%) | 3.000 | 3.990 | 5.142 | 6.453 | — |
| Cut-off price (ETB per 100) | 99.750 | 99.000 | 97.500 | 92.600 | — |
| Cut-off yield (%) | 3.267 | 4.052 | 5.142 | 8.013 | — |
| Weighted average price (ETB per 100) | 99.762 | 99.009 | 97.500 | 92.738 | — |
| Weighted average yield (%) | 3.107 | 4.015 | 5.142 | 7.852 | 5.798 |
Interbank money market
Each row covers a whole week, not a day: the exchange publishes one weighted average per period, and no daily observation exists. A period runs from two to seven days and does not always begin on a Monday.
The exchange heads its last column “Change %”. The figure is a difference in percentage points against the previous published week, and it is labelled here as what it is.
Overnight
| Week covered | Weighted average rate (%) | Volume (ETB) | Trades | Change (percentage points) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 Aug 2026 – 28 Aug 2026 | 14.574 | 19,700,000,000 | 12 | -1.5454 |
| 17 Aug 2026 – 21 Aug 2026 | 16.119 | 11,125,000,000 | 12 | 3.1191 |
| 10 Aug 2026 – 14 Aug 2026 | 13.000 | 3,850,000,000 | 6 | 0.0000 |
| 03 Aug 2026 – 07 Aug 2026 | 13.000 | 6,350,000,000 | 6 | 0.0000 |
| 27 Jul 2026 – 31 Jul 2026 | 13.000 | 14,000,000,000 | 6 | 0.0000 |
| 20 Jul 2026 – 24 Jul 2026 | 13.000 | 1,000,000,000 | 1 | 1.0000 |
| 13 Jul 2026 – 17 Jul 2026 | 12.000 | 2,000,000,000 | 2 | 0.0000 |
| 06 Jul 2026 – 10 Jul 2026 | 12.000 | 24,600,000,000 | 23 | 0.0000 |
| 29 Jun 2026 – 03 Jul 2026 | 12.000 | 27,880,000,000 | 30 | -0.4110 |
| 22 Jun 2026 – 26 Jun 2026 | 12.411 | 50,800,000,000 | 45 | -0.0046 |
| 15 Jun 2026 – 19 Jun 2026 | 12.416 | 66,300,000,000 | 59 | -0.1087 |
| 08 Jun 2026 – 12 Jun 2026 | 12.525 | 58,725,000,000 | 57 | 0.3683 |
Seven day
| Week covered | Weighted average rate (%) | Volume (ETB) | Trades | Change (percentage points) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 Aug 2026 – 28 Aug 2026 | 13.241 | 38,550,000,000 | 37 | -1.9448 |
| 17 Aug 2026 – 21 Aug 2026 | 15.186 | 46,575,000,000 | 47 | 2.1857 |
| 10 Aug 2026 – 14 Aug 2026 | 13.000 | 24,200,000,000 | 29 | 0.0000 |
| 03 Aug 2026 – 07 Aug 2026 | 13.000 | 40,950,000,000 | 31 | 0.0000 |
| 27 Jul 2026 – 31 Jul 2026 | 13.000 | 9,680,000,000 | 17 | 0.0000 |
| 20 Jul 2026 – 24 Jul 2026 | 13.000 | 23,900,000,000 | 27 | 0.6080 |
| 13 Jul 2026 – 17 Jul 2026 | 12.392 | 29,600,000,000 | 37 | 0.3919 |
| 06 Jul 2026 – 10 Jul 2026 | 12.000 | 33,900,000,000 | 39 | -0.2660 |
| 29 Jun 2026 – 03 Jul 2026 | 12.266 | 36,050,000,000 | 37 | -2.1207 |
| 22 Jun 2026 – 26 Jun 2026 | 14.387 | 16,800,000,000 | 22 | -1.2471 |
| 15 Jun 2026 – 19 Jun 2026 | 15.634 | 49,800,000,000 | 46 | -0.8945 |
| 08 Jun 2026 – 12 Jun 2026 | 16.528 | 39,600,000,000 | 43 | -1.1412 |
Consumer price index
These are three separate measurements of the same months and are never combined here. Year on year compares a month with the same month a year earlier; month on month compares it with the month before; the moving average covers the twelve months ending in it.
Year on year
| Reference month | General (%) | Food (%) | Non-food (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 2026 · August EFY2018 | 15.1 | 14.9 | 15.4 |
| Jul 2026 · July EFY2018 | 15.3 | 15.7 | 14.8 |
| Jun 2026 · June EFY2018 | 13.9 | 15.1 | 12.2 |
| May 2026 · May EFY2018 | 13.4 | 15.0 | 11.1 |
| Apr 2026 · April EFY2018 | 11.7 | 13.5 | 9.1 |
| Mar 2026 · March EFY2018 | 9.4 | 11.0 | 7.0 |
| Feb 2026 · February EFY2018 | 9.7 | 10.8 | 8.1 |
| Jan 2026 · January EFY2018 | 9.8 | 10.4 | 9.0 |
| Dec 2025 · December EFY2018 | 9.7 | 9.8 | 9.6 |
| Nov 2025 · November EFY2018 | 10.9 | 10.6 | 11.4 |
| Oct 2025 · October EFY2018 | 11.7 | 10.2 | 14.2 |
| Sep 2025 · September EFY2018 | 13.2 | 12.1 | 14.8 |
Month on month
| Reference month | General (%) | Food (%) | Non-food (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 2026 · August EFY2018 | 0.9 | 0.8 | 1.1 |
| Jul 2026 · July EFY2018 | 2.6 | 2.3 | 3.0 |
| Jun 2026 · June EFY2018 | 1.0 | 0.9 | 1.0 |
| May 2026 · May EFY2018 | 1.7 | 1.3 | 2.3 |
| Apr 2026 · April EFY2018 | 2.3 | 2.4 | 2.2 |
| Mar 2026 · March EFY2018 | 2.3 | 2.5 | 2.1 |
| Feb 2026 · February EFY2018 | 0.4 | 0.3 | 0.6 |
| Jan 2026 · January EFY2018 | 0.7 | 0.8 | 0.5 |
| Dec 2025 · December EFY2018 | -0.3 | -0.6 | 0.1 |
| Nov 2025 · November EFY2018 | -1.4 | -1.3 | -1.6 |
| Oct 2025 · October EFY2018 | 2.3 | 2.7 | 1.8 |
| Sep 2025 · September EFY2018 | 2.0 | 1.9 | 2.0 |
Twelve-month moving average
| Reference month | General (%) | Food (%) | Non-food (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 2026 · August EFY2018 | 12.0 | 12.4 | 11.3 |
| Jul 2026 · July EFY2018 | 11.9 | 12.3 | 11.3 |
| Jun 2026 · June EFY2018 | 11.7 | 11.9 | 11.3 |
| May 2026 · May EFY2018 | 11.7 | 11.7 | 11.7 |
| Apr 2026 · April EFY2018 | 11.7 | 11.4 | 12.2 |
| Mar 2026 · March EFY2018 | 12.0 | 11.3 | 13.0 |
| Feb 2026 · February EFY2018 | 12.3 | 11.3 | 13.8 |
| Jan 2026 · January EFY2018 | 12.7 | 11.6 | 14.4 |
| Dec 2025 · December EFY2018 | 13.2 | 12.1 | 15.0 |
| Nov 2025 · November EFY2018 | 13.8 | 12.8 | 15.4 |
| Oct 2025 · October EFY2018 | 14.3 | 13.4 | 15.8 |
| Sep 2025 · September EFY2018 | 15.0 | 14.4 | 15.9 |
Release
The base period is reproduced exactly as each release prints it. Releases have printed different base periods on different pages of the same document, and a re-basing of the index has been announced, so the figures here are not restated onto any single base.
| Reference month | Base period, as printed | Release |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 2026 · August EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, August 2026 |
| Jul 2026 · July EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, July 2026 |
| Jun 2026 · June EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, June 2026 |
| May 2026 · May EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, May 2026 |
| Apr 2026 · April EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, April 2026 |
| Mar 2026 · March EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, March 2026 |
| Feb 2026 · February EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, February 2026 |
| Jan 2026 · January EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, January 2026 |
| Dec 2025 · December EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, December 2025 |
| Nov 2025 · November EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, November 2025 |
| Oct 2025 · October EFY2018 | Dec, EFY2009= 100 | Consumer Price Index, October 2025 |
| Sep 2025 · September EFY2018 | — | Consumer Price Index September 2025 |
National Bank policy rate
Each row is one announced decision, shown against the date printed on the statement that announced it. A meeting that changed nothing adds no row, so a gap is the last announced level standing, not a missing figure. Every level here was read from the statement linked beside it and entered by hand.
The band is the width the decision printed around the level, in percentage points. The National Bank does not state a date from which a level applies, and does not publish its standing lending and deposit rates as figures of their own, so neither is shown here and neither is worked out.
| Announced on | Policy rate (%) | Band (± percentage points) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13 Jul 2026 | 16 | 3 | Statement |
| 09 Jul 2024 | 15 | 3 | Statement |
Educational information only — not investment advice. Investing involves risk. Consult a licensed advisor.
የትምህርት መረጃ ብቻ — የኢንቨስትመንት ምክር አይደለም። ኢንቨስት ማድረግ ስጋት አለው። ፈቃድ ያለው አማካሪ ያማክሩ።